Posted by: Midsummernight | April 10, 2008

The one who makes me humble

If I only had one child I would sit and wonder why people say parenting is hard.  Ok, I wouldn’t really because for some reason I thought one child was hard. When Josiah was born we didn’t go anywhere. Ever. Bible studies? Nope. Parks?  Way to much work.  Heck, the grocery store seemed like a massive feat.  And then, and then we had Aiden.  My little humbler. Josiah listens.  Just listens.  But Aiden, well to put it nicely he doesn’t listen.  At all. 

My sister, bless her little heart, thought that I was over exaggerating.  That is until she watched him one day.  No matter what the request he required a time-out to respond to the request.  Every. Single. Time.  Barring once I believe.  She believes me now.

So my little one and I have had battles power-struggles discussions differences of opinion lately over bed time (always, and what child doesn’t really?), what constitutes a inside voice (if my eardrums hurt it is NOT a inside voice, just sayin), if we get more food after we have decided to give our plate to the dog (answer is no), if we really need to wash our hair at bath time (yes), if we have to be buckled into the car seat (yes), and the classic are crackers considered a healthy breakfast (no no no).  

Aiden is the main reason I recently bought “Love and Logic”, “The Difficult Child”, and “How to make your kids mind, without loosing yours”.  Alas the last one I bought a little to late, mind is gone. But between all of the ideas I am hoping to see some improvement.  My goal, obviously is to raise him to be a responsible member of society.  My fear is getting a child who will say “yes mom” out of fear not love.  I am trying to learn how to capture his heart so to speak.  I want him to obey out of love, not fear of some consequence.  I realize that written out it sounds sorta hippyish.  But really I want his love, not fear. 

So we are trying to change our tactics with him.  I am also trying to focus on the positives with him.  The unexpected hugs and kisses, his contagious laughter, the way he gets two inches from your face when he wants to tell you something important, the complete desire to be just like his big brother and yet trying to be just the opposite at the same time, the way he runs full speed at me the minute I get home from work, his absolute excitement in life.  Aiden is the one to make me humble, but I am learning he is also the one who is making me Live.

 

Responses

  1. “I want him to obey out of love, not fear of some consequence. I realize that written out it sounds sorta hippyish. But really I want his love, not fear. ”

    I love this. Its so true.

  2. so very true!


Leave a Reply

Categories

