Posted by: Midsummernight | December 9, 2007

Lesons learned

Remember that old adage “Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it.”? I am apparently, not learning and hence doomed to repeat. Tuesday night P and I sat on the bed talking, when really we should have been sleeping since we were going to be up all night. Hindsight really is 20/20. As I was sitting there I moved, and distinctly felt something pop. “Odd” I thought and promptly ignored it. I am nothing if not dense sometimes. Less than a minute later I think I am leaking pee all over the bed. Over the course of the next half hour I make numerous trips to the restroom assuming that my bladder has suddenly stopped working. I then decided to tell P that I think my bladder is, um… broken or something. He looks at me like I have lost my mind and promptly starts changing from pj’s to clothes. This is in fact the same way I went into labor with Josiah. I woke up P at 2:30am with the complaint that my bladder was leaking and I didn’t know how to stop it.

P obviously knows how to learn from past history, whereas I do not.  I tried vainly  to convince P that no, I was sure it was not my water because I would just know when that happened.  He politely ignored my attempts all the while getting dressed, putting on his leg, and starting the car.  I finally decided that maybe, just maybe he was right.  So I got dressed while he carried the boys to the car and then sat in the car while he carried the boys into my sisters house so we could head into OB.  At OB they conformed that yes my water had broken and I was having the baby tonight.  My doctor rushed into the hospital and my sister did too.  After about two and a half hours of labor I decided that the whole natural thing is overrated.  They called the anesthesiologist and she got there in half an hour.  Record time really considering she lives 20 min away and the roads were junk do to a snow storm.  An hour later little Amélie was born.  She is beautiful and perfect to me, and thank goodness so far the girl still knows how to sleep.  She gives me one four hour stretch each night so far, that I know will not last forever.  I am thankful for it now though.  So for now she eats, sleeps and is slowly stealing our hearts.  The boys love her and are asking to hold her constantly.  I am hoping they continue to enjoy her as she grows.  They have been great big brothers so far and I am so proud of them.

img_2560.jpg

Responses

  1. She is beautiful! 🙂 I love that she’s stuffed in a stocking. What a wonderful gift!

    I love the stocking too! It was one of the gifts from the hospital.

  2. Yea!
    I have a new background. 🙂
    Thanks.

    P.S. You forgot to mention that I got to cut the cord. Really its so cool.

  3. Way to go P. Sometime we just have to take things into our own hands. Love Dad


Leave a Reply

Categories

