Posted by: Midsummernight | November 29, 2007

Nesting, still nesting

This whole nesting thing is still throwing me for a loop. I am amazed for one at how long it lasts. Granted the cleaning urges come and go, but still I have had them for a while now! My dear hubby is starting to be driven up the proverbial wall with the cleaning. Last night he was reading his book and I walked into the room and was wiping down the doors. We are renting a older house right now and the doors are the old fashioned real solid wood with grooves cut into them. Similar to these only ours are three panel. Anyways…(as I am totally getting sidetracked) I was wiping down the grooves because dust has a tendency to collect there. P looked up at me, sighed and put his book down. Then went on to complain that he can not read while I am cleaning odd things! This is the same man I have seen be completely engrossed in his book while the children climb all over him. I had no sympathy for the fact that my cleaning suddenly makes him unable to concentrate.

So in addition to having really nice clean doors, in the past two days I have also swept the ceiling (there are cobwebs up there!) Also I have scrubbed the baseboards with a toothbrush.  Oh, yes I did.  The baseboards are of course the large thick old ones and between the wall and baseboard there is not a nice smooth line.  They meet haphazardly and so paint has filled in the gaps, but the paint then is not nice and smooth either.  So you get little spots where the paint dips and the dust collects.  The only way to get it looking nice and clean is to scrub it with a toothbrush.  I spent a looong time cleaning the baseboards, while my children watched me with dumbfounded looks on their faces.  Aiden was especially upset since it was his old toothbrush I was using.  I then scrubbed the entire kitchen floor on my hands and knees since everyone who grew up with my Mother know that the only acceptable way to mop a floor is by hand.  Try it once, it really does make a difference.  So now that I have clean doors, baseboards and ceiling I think I should scrub the walls tomorrow.  And maybe find the touch up paint…

Responses

  1. I am laughing so hard right now…… Remembering when I cleaned my ceiling in the trailer with a mop because it was dirty when I was pregnant with #1

  2. Oh, I totally agree. The only way to adequately scrub a floor is on hands and knees. No mop compares!

    So glad to know I am not the only one! – Midsummer Night


Leave a Reply

Categories

