Posted by: Midsummernight | October 5, 2007

The first pregnancy excitement

Back when I was first pregnant with Josiah I was all awash in the pregnancy glow. I was excited and thought that this mothering thing was going to be a so fun. I had no idea what I was in for. Yes, kids are fun. Yes, I love them to pieces. But really when it comes right down to it, I had no idea what this whole mom thing was going to be like (does anyone really?)

I happened to be pregnant during Mothers Day that year and I believe I was just in love with the idea of being a mom. I went to church that morning happy and still excited. That morning, I had a small awaking that this might be more work than I thought. Our Pastors wife spoke that morning on being a mother. She started off with a list of things she had learned since becoming a mom. One of the things was “No matter how small the child, they can fill a whole car seat with diarrhea.” Um, WHAT?! I don’t recall a single other thing from her talk that day, in fact I don’t think I really heard anything else the whole time. Never once in my dreams of being a mother did I ever realize that I would have to deal with diarrhea, and lots of it at that. A little awaking started that day and I have come to realize over the years that yes I do have to deal with other peoples body functions on a regular basis.

Today while writing up my little “Come over and read me” comment for Karen’s Linky Love post I thought about the fact that I have not had a poop incident in a while. Oh, how I think too soon. As soon as I hit send I looked over to see what Aiden was doing. Aiden had, apparently, pooped and let it fall out his diaper. Right as I looked over at him I saw him driving his toy truck into the poop. Dang! There goes my short reprieve from poop issues.

Responses

  1. LOL!
    Ya know, I thought I had it rough when a diaper fell lose in my 2 year old’s footed jammies and he had a LOAD!
    And then I think . . . really does the house ever smell the same?
    Motherhood – not for the faint of heart!

  2. Hey there! I tagged you for a meme on my blog ( http://www.pediascribe.com/20071021/sunday-meme-view-from-the-window/ ) I hope you’ll play along!


Leave a Reply

Categories

