Posted by: Midsummernight | July 14, 2007

Pink, anyone see any pink?

A friend of mine has a two year old little girl and just had a baby boy.  Due to a number of circumstances beyond their control her husband and her a done having babies.  I always feel a little sad for her since I know that she does want more.  But instead of being bitter or upset that I am having a third baby that she can not, she has chosen to rejoice with me.  When she found out I was having a girl she went through all her boxes of girl clothes that she was planning on selling at a baby fair this fall and picked out some for me.  Y’all she brought be SEVEN boxes of clothes, shoes, and blankets.  I am completely overwhelmed by her generosity.  Then when I tried to give her something for the clothes (I knew she was going to sell them) I was completely turned down.  She won’t accept a dime from me.  I am so blessed to have friends like her.

I spent all day sorting little pink things and making sure the items would fit in the right season.  A few things were so cute, but I am giving back to her to sell.  Summer dresses in the dead of winter are just not practical.  She knew that some of her daughters things were going to be the wrong season, but when she was looking through the clothes she was just grabbing whatever was really cute.  I keep looking at all the clothes pilled up in my living room and I am so thankful.  Friends are such blessings.

Responses

  1. Isn’t that wonderful!
    It is totally how we function down here, I have pretty much all used and donated clothing, and have given away all my girl stuff that my daughter has outgrown.
    It’s been kinda fun cause I’ve gotten back some of the original clothing I once gave away . . . I love running into these now twice or thrice used outfits that I remember . . .
    It’s a blessing, and have fun in all that pink!

  2. Congratulations on your little girl! What a blessing. We could not clothe our family if it weren’t for hand-me-downs!!

    I’m so glad you commented so I could get to meet you here! I’m looking forward to getting to know you more in the next few months.


Leave a Reply

Categories

