Posted by: Midsummernight | May 13, 2007

No one ever told me.

No one ever told me what it was really like to be a mom.

No one told me about the month and a half it would take of sheer determination to get my first baby to nurse. No one ever told me about sticky tar poop, explosive fill a car-seat poop, lime green to black and all the colors in between poop. No one ever told me about colic (ok, so I was warned about that one but it’s not the same till you go through it) or about the three am crying for nothing. No one ever told me about the crying about naps for ever. Or about the general attempts to destroy pretty much everything I own. No one ever told me about how much two boys can fight while only being 2 1/2 and 17 months. No one ever told me that they can empty the whole toy box in thirty seconds flat. Or that any open box of cereal within reach would be dumped on the floor the minute my back was turned. No one told me about all the things that would drive me crazy each and every day.

But no one also told me about the sweet bedtime kisses. The hugs just because. The belly laughs they have that make my heart soar. No one told me about first time smiles (even if it was “just gas”). No one told me how my heart would break just watching them sleep, especially they day they slept in the same bed because they wanted to be next to each other. No one told me that their first words are so amazing, but that I would still be amazed years later to hear full sentences. No one told me how amazing it would feel to see the 2 1/2 year old get a concept that I had been trying to show him for six months. No one told me how much I would melt when they voluntarily share toys or give kisses and hugs to whoever is hurt.

No one told me how much I would cherish the night time cuddle and reading books time. No one told me how much I would miss them when I am gone for a day. No one told me that they would force me to grow in areas I didn’t know I had. And cause others areas to wither away. No one told me that their births would be almost the most amazing things in my life (third only to the day I gave my life to Christ and my marriage to the most wonderful man in the world). No one told me that between all the pain and all the laughter would be two of most wonderful blessings God has ever given me.

They told me that I would have one day a year that they would celebrate me as a Mother. But they never told me that I would celebrate it every day all year long. Blessings to you and your little ones this Mothers Day.

And a prayer for those of you who are yet to be a Mother, may God bless you this year.

Leave a Reply

Categories

