Posted by: Midsummernight | July 16, 2006

Anyone want a free carseat?

Did I mention that I was planning on taking a trip with two small children? Traveling thousands of miles and 8 odd hours of plane/driving time? No? So that must be why I didn’t hear the loud resounding yell of “DONT DO IT!” Since I know that all of you that have small children and have tried to vacation with them would have told me. I have heard the horror stories. Oh yes, I am not completely in the dark on these things. I, however, thought I was prepared. The word “thought” by the should be huge, bold and the obvious word of foreshadowing for this story.

My mom lives across the country. I happen to have a two year old and a 8 month old. I also naively believe that I can be prepared enough and then things will go smoothly. Why are you laughing? Our adventure did not in fact go smoothly at all and I am dreading the return trip home. The plane trip was nothing compared to the drive through the mountains. I think next time I will pay the extra $700 to get a flight out of this side of the mountains. Picture two kids, one without a nap, late at night and crabby. We drove hours with screaming, and all the like. Not so bad though, I can handle that. What I couldn’t deal with so well was the vomit. Enough vomit to fill the car seat. In the middle of the mountains the toddler was vomiting chocolate milk and all his supper. Suffice to say it was not fun. We made it though, vomit smelling car and all. And now, I don’t think I am ever going home.

Responses

  1. Ewwwww! I’ve traveled with two small ones too . . . by plane this time. Last time I only had one little one and we drove accross country. We have experiences the chocolate milk throw up! It’s the worst! *shiver*

  2. You have offically scared me out of driving back home to MN! 😉 I recently moved to Boise from MN and have a 2.5 yr old boy and an 8 month old boy. I WAS contemplating driving all the way back for a visit…but maybe I’ll just wait until January 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

