Posted by: Midsummernight | April 17, 2006

Monday Challenge

Owlhaven has issued a challenge for Monday which I thought would be fun. So for the three things that represent me the most in my home I have found the following.


Up first is the second quilt I ever made. I spent a long time choosing the colors and went to two different quilt shops (about 45 miles apart) looking for the perfect fabric. The resulting quilt was a wild crazy colored quilt that makes me smile every time I see it. I currently have it hanging on the back of the black couch for some color in the living room.

The second one is my photo albums lined up on the top of the bookshelf. I love taking pictures and think that they deserved to be displayed. Since I don’t want to make wallpaper out of them, putting the books on display is the next best option. I always love when I go to someone’s house and they have their photo books out where people are welcome to look through them. The photos you keep and bother to put in a book say so much about what you treasure and the happy memories that you want to keep. I also love it when they have written something about the pictures next to them so I can get an idea of the story behind the pictures.

And the last one is my storage jars. These ones are actually more for looks than storage as you can see they really don’t have a lot in them. I found these as a set in a garage sale once, still brand new in the box. The color is what sold them for me though. As a little girl I remember going to the local farmer to get cream from them to make butter. We would always put the cream in a green color Ball jar my parents had. Then my brother, sister and I would fight over who got to shake the jar till it turned to butter. I think it is one of the really happy moments of my childhood as I can remember being so thrilled to get to do such a simple thing of watching the cream turn to butter.

This challenge was actually harder for me than I originally thought it would be. I found as I looked around my current home that most of it is not mine. DH and I currently live with my father and the majority of the furniture is his. It is a duplex that we are not planning on staying in long (although it has certainly turned into longer than I originally anticipated) so we really have not put up much for decorations or pictures. It was actually hard to find three things that I really treasure and like looking at. I guess that is one of the reasons I am so anxious to move to a more semi-permanent dwelling. At least at the next house I should be able to paint or hang pictures to make it feel a little more like home. This house just never has.

Responses

  1. Your pictures are great! So cool you used your pretty quilt for your blog background

    Mary, mom to many

  2. Love the quilt


Leave a Reply

Categories

